top of page

Body Beast: Build Shoulders

So, basically, this morning I felt like this:

Once I unraveled and rolled out of bed (an hour after my alarm went off), it was time to complete day 5 of Body Beast: Build: Shoulders. TIME TO BUILD SOME GLAMOUR MUSCLES!!

  • Length: 38 minutes

  • Equipment needed: Bench (or stability ball), weights, curl bar with plates

I went into this workout aiming to lift heavy.

Sagi starts this workout by saying:

‘Think about round shoulders, like two big balloons with small waist. That’s what Build Shoulders is all about. So, let’s get to it!’

Two balloons. Small waist. Got it. I think he and I have opposite ideas of balloons…

Warm-Up:

Sagi’s warm-ups are getting familiar. :) This is 3:30 minutes (hey, that’s the longest yet) of jogging, arm circles, and eventually lifting light weights - I used 8 pounds, (including the press, rows, flyes) to warm up your shoulders. Like usual, you end this in a jog.

Seated Shoulder Press:

  • Round 1: 15 reps

  • Round 2: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 3: increase weight: 8 reps

  • Drop set: decrease weight: 8 reps

These are great to lift heavy on the last round.

Side Lateral Raise/Upright Rows

  • Round 1: side lateral raise: 15 reps

  • Round 1: upright rows: 15 reps

  • Round 2: side lateral raise: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 2: upright rows: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 3: side lateral raise: increase weight: 8 reps

  • Round 3: upright rows: increase weight: 8 reps

  • Drop set: upright rows: decrease weight: 8 reps

At the beginning he says:

'Are you ready to Beast-up? Are you ready to get big?!’

I started to realize… I am answering this guy. Oh hey! Definition in my legs!

I thought you’d like to see it from the back (yes, I’m sweaty - I do not usually wear a shirt):

If you do not have a bar, you could use weights.

Underhand Press/1, 1, 2 Front Raise/Rear Delt Raise:

  • Round 1: underhand press: 15 reps

  • Round 1: front raise: 15 reps

  • Round 1: rear delt raise: 15 reps

  • Round 2: underhand press: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 2: front raise: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 2: rear delt raise: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 3: underhand press: increase weight: 8 reps

  • Round 3: front raise: increase weight: 8 reps

  • Round 3: rear delt raise: increase weight: 8 reps

This one gets extremely tiring because one rep includes three moves:

I had to lift light for all rounds of these (8 pounds):

Dumbbell Shrug/Scap Trap:

  • Round 1: shrug: 15 reps

  • Round 1: scap trap: 15 reps

  • Round 2: shrug: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 2: scap trap: increase weight: 12 reps

  • Round 3: shrug: increase weight: 8 reps

  • Drop set: shrug: decrease weight: 8 reps

  • Round 3: scap trap: increase weight: 8 reps

I lift heavy on the last round - 52.5 pounds.

The scap trap is a weird move and it seems to be built for the bench. However, I managed it on the ball (like the other guy in the video).

It still seemed to work the traps. :)

Sagi Six Way/Tuck and Roll

  • Round 1: Sagi Six Way: Light weights: 12 reps. Starting with straight arms you raise them to the side, then to the middle, lift them up, back down, to the sides, and down. That’s a mouth full - try it - it’s exhausting. :)

  • Round 1: Tuck and Roll: 15 reps. You start laying on your back and roll your knees basically to your face and roll back out.

  • Round 2: Sagi Six Way: decrease weight: 8 reps.

  • Round 2: Tuck and Roll: 15 reps.

Cool Down:

This is so quick you barely know it happened! :) It is 45 seconds of stretching out your shoulders.

Look at this guy. At this moment, he says:

'I am surrender for you Beast, I know you want big shoulders, I can barely hold them up’. What?

Final Thoughts:

  • I call this a successful shoulder day:

  • I burnt about 250 calories during this 38 minute shoulder workout. That’s not bad.

  • I could feel my shoulders on fire - therefore, I knew it worked. I am excited to lift heavier the next time!

  • I think I need to put more air in my ball.

  • My butt and legs are less sore today but now my biceps and shoulders are burning. :)

  • Tomorrow is 'REST’ day which makes me both happy and sad. My muscles need to rebuild (especially before my 5K Saturday morning) but I always hate not doing any 'workout’ in a day. I may be spending a good amount of the day on a foam roller. :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page